Red Vets dot come logo
Posted by Mikeumus on Jul 29, 2009
Blocked: Giftfreegame

Blocked: Giftfreegame



So today (July 28th, 2009) I was messaged by no other than: Giftfreegame via Steam Friend Chat. At the time the name was technically Giftfreegame(2), now that I’m looking at the same chat box it reads Giftfreegame(1), possibly because I blocked one of them. The point being that anyone with a Steam account can change their “Nickname” at will resulting in a legitimate Steam user with the name of Giftfreegame will now be forever condemned upon this article’s publication, but I do not feel that will be too much of an issue considering that the only thing that the Giftfreegame account that I met today seems to only know how to say is: “The steam is proud to present free games for steam http://steampoweredgames123.t35.com/”

Giftfreegames Steam Chat Conversation

Maybe he/she is foreign which would explain the “The steam” introduction. Or maybe their just trying to avoid legal accusations, although odds are Steam would not bring any against them for such a petty spam message sent out seemingly manually to only a few people, but this next part might just cross that legal line.

I launched my new Ubuntu 9.04 Linux format (versus opening it on my Windows XP desktop where the link could carry the possibility of launching malicious code, just like any malicious link you would get from a spam email) on my old Dell Inspiron 1501 and ventured into Giftfreegame’s link to find an interesting surprise. Of course the url gives the website away as bogus but once you get there you might just feel like you have a true Stream promotion on your hands.

w w w dot steam powered games 1 2 3 dot t 3 5 dot com

So I search the page, almost excited for my free download, only to find a form for me to conveniently log into my Steam account. So I did, I logged in with the username of: test and password of: test. (which I only did because I was still on my Linux machine)

test login to w w w dot steam powered games 1 2 3 dot t 3 5 dot com

Which took me to https://steamcommunity.com/?action=doLogin

Failed login to steam community dot com

Which is a certified legitimate and secured web page as stated and shown by the Valve Corporation Certificate and the secured https. Which was not what I was expecting, I was expecting another forged Steam page. This is not to say that his forged Steam Community login form was harmless. It is possible that the password was being passed to SteamCommunity.com and then passed again to Giftfreegame’s little collection of Steam user names and passwords. The fun really ended when back on http://steampoweredgames123.t35.com/ I saw the footer and the links to places like “Online Casino” & “Drug Rehab”. I also noticed the statement telling me that this page is: “Hosted by t35 Free Web Hosting.” which is seen again in the actual url: http://steampoweredgames123.t35.com/.

So of course the next natural thing for me to do was to go to http://www.t35.com/. I was very scared, even on my linux machine, that this website would surely be a den for extremely malicious hackers, but I arrived only to find a happy free hosting website that was eager to give me a free WebsiteName.t35.com url, the picture of the young guy on the home page making his T35 website even looked like me, except he was a little younger and it’s summer time now.

w w w dot t 35 dot com

Today (July 29th 2009) when I went back to http://steampoweredgames123.t35.com/ I found that the page was blocked, first by Ubuntu’s Firefox with the Reported Web Forgery! warning in red.

Reported Web Forgery! Ubuntu's Firefox warning web page block

And after clicking the”Ignore this warning” link at the bottom right corner (which again I only did because I was still on my Linux machine), I was taken to a T35.com 404 Error Page.

t 35 dot com 404 error page

So it’s pretty safe to say that Giftfreegame is no longer a treat to send you malicious Steam Spam. His/Her web page is down and his/her account was most likely banned. This was just another story of a sad lonely spammer trying to steal some Steam accounts, Girefreegame was not the first and there will yet again be another but until then enjoy “The steam”.




Post by Mikeumus
Peace and Love,
Mikeumus' Signature

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Post a Comment


3 Responses to “Blocked: Giftfreegame”

  1. IceBreaker says:

    roflmao…

    I love phishers.

    And i think we’ll all enjoy “The Steam”…

  2. NodNarb says:

    lol i just got one of those same address, what a noob

  3. Mikeumus says:

    Wow, he,she,it’s still around huh?

    Wouldn’t they have banned the address the first time?

    Maybe no one reported it.

Leave a Reply